Lanka Premier League 2020 Teams

Lanka premier League is all set to start after plenty of delays and current start date is 21st November, 2020 for the inaugural edition of LPL 2020. Lanka Premier League 2020 teams have already been named.

Interestingly only total number of 5 teams participating in Lanka premier League 2020 edition with all teams name based on famous Sri Lankan cities.

Lanka premier league 2020 teams are:

  • Colombo Kings
  • Dambula Hawks
  • Galle Gladiators
  • Jaffna stallions
  • Kandy Tusker

Details of all Lanka Premier League teams are mentioned below:

Colombo Kings

Colombo is the commercial capital of Sri Lanka and also the most populous city of the Sri Lanka. Cricket in Sri Lanka cannot be completed without Colombo. Lanka premier League team name for Colombo is Colombo Kings.

Not a surprise if Colombo is one of the first name comes in mind when you discuss Sri Lankan cricket with as many as 3 international cricket stadiums in the city. Colombo Cricket Club Ground, P. Sara Oval, Sinhalese Sports Club Ground are the three stadiums in Colombo.

Famous Cricketers from Colombo

  • Lasith Embuldeniya 
  • Vishwa Fernando
  • Lahiru Gamage
  • Shehan Jayasuriya
  • Dimuth Karunaratne
  • Graeme Labrooy
  • Farveez Maharoof,
  • Thisara Perera

Galle Gladiators

Galle is a city at the southwest coast of Sri Lank and Galle Cricket Stadium is known as the one of the most picturesque cricket stadiums in the world nearby Galle Fort. Galle Gladiators will represent Galle in Lanka Premier League.

Famous Cricketers from Galle

Few of the famous cricketers produced from Galle are:

  • Lasith Malinga
  • Nuwan Kulasekara
  • Romesh Kaluwitharana
  • Malinga Bandara
  • Asoka de Silva (also represented Sri Lanka in ICC elite panel of umpires).

Jaffna Stallions

Jaffna is the city in Northern Province of Sri Lanka and LPL T20 team Jaffna Stallions named after this city to promote the cricket and talent in this part of Sri Lanka.

Famous Cricketers from Jaffna

Jaffna district already provided few international cricketers for Sri Lanka mainly:

  • Jeevan Mendis
  • Tharanga Paranavitana
  • Ramith Rambukwella

Dambula Hawks

Dambula is situated in Central Province of Sri Lanka and is the largest city in Central district. Dambula is been the cricketing center as it has hosted 55 One Day International Matches at Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium. LPL 2020 team named from Dambula Is Dambula Hawks.

Famous Cricketers from Dambula

Few famous international cricketers produced from Matale are:

  • Kumar Sangakkara
  • Chanaka Welegedara
  • Prabath Jayasuriya,

Kandy Tuskers

Kandy is one of the largest cities of Sri Lanka’s central province and also the Capital of Central Province. Kandy was one of the old cricket playing cities in Sri Lanka as cricket taking place in Asgiriya Stadium since 1993 and it also stage few World Cup matches in 1996.

Now cricket in Kandy is now moved to  Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, also known as Muttiah Muralitharan International Cricket Stadium. Kandy Tuskers is the team belongs from Kandy in LPL 2020.

Famous Cricketers from Kandy

Top international cricketers hailed from Kandy are:

  • Ruwan Kalpage
  • Muttiah Muralitharan
  • Pubudu Bathiya Dassanayake
  • Chamara Kantha Kapugedera
  • Ranjan Senerath Madugalle
  • Kaushalya Weeraratne

LPL Sri Lanka 2020 Owner

Lanka Premier League is owned by Sri Lanka Cricket and its Vice President Ravin Wickramaratne is officially appointed as the director of the LPL Sri Lanka 2020.

Lanka Premier League Franchise Owners

LPL Sri Lanka 2020 team owners are form various countries and have cricketing interest to an extent. LPL Sri Lanka 2020 owner list is mentioned below for our viewers:

Team Owner of Galle Gladiators

One of the most respected men in Pakistan cricketing circuit Nadeem Owner is the owner of LPL Srilanka 2020 team Galle Gladiators. He is also owner of the 1 time Champion Team of Pakistan Super League Quetta Gladiators also.

Franchise owner of Lanka Premier League 2020 Team - Nadeem Omar

He kept the legacy and named his new team as Galle Gladiators to have uniformity among his cricket memorabilia. A passionate cricket follower Omer is a business executive and entrepreneur by profession and invested a lot in Pakistan cricket over the years.

Team Owner of Jaffna Stallions

Franchise owner of Lanka Premier League 2020 Team - Brindon Bagirathan

Brindon Bagirathan, a British-Sri Lankan entrepreneur is the owner of Jaffna Stallions team at Lanka Premier League. He is mostly renowned in cricketing fraternity for his involvement in Australia, England and India. His core and only motivation by owing this team is to develop cricket in Northern Province of Sri Lanka.

Team owner of Kanduy Tusker

Franchise Owner Lanka Premier League 2020 Team - Sohail Khan

Bollywood celebrity, actor, writer and producer Sohail Khan is the owner of Kandy Tusker in Lanka Premier League 2020. He is been involved in sports and have seen many times playing in different festival cricket matches with his brothers actor Salman Khan & Arbaz Khan.

Team Owner of Colombo Kings

Owner of Colombo Kings is also not known yet and will be updated as soon as we find it.

Team Owner of Dambula Hawks

Owner of Dambula Hawks is not known and will be updated as soon as we get details.

Updated: November 5, 2020 — 7:05 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *